Lab

Mission | People | Projects | Collaborators

Mission

People

Members

Group Leader
Michael Felderer michael.felderer@uibk.ac.at
PhD Students
Florian Auer florian.auer@uibk.ac.at
Irdin Pekaric irdin.pekaric.@uibk.ac.at
Thomas Auer thomas.auer@student.uibk.ac.at
Harald Foidl harald.foidl@student.uibk.ac.at
Daniel Kopp daniel.kopp@student.uibk.ac.at
Tobias Lorey tobias.lorey@student.uibk.ac.at
Student Assistants
Michael Rampl michael.rampl@student.uibk.ac.at
Juri Seelmann juri.seelmann@student.uibk.ac.at

 

Guests

 

Former Members

 

Projects

Funded Research Projects

MIDSISE

Meeting Industrial Demand for Skills in Information Security Education

Duration: 11/2019 - 10/2021

Funding Agency: Erasmus+, EU

Content: In this project we apply Natural Language Processing and empirical methods to investigate skills in information security education and derive requirements for effective curricula.

BCT

Blockchain Technology in Tourism

Duration: 11/2019 - 12/2020

Funding Agency: Province of Tyrol

Content: In this project we evaluate the applicability of blockchain technology for uses cases in tourism.

NLPCSRE

NLP Supported Collaborative Security Requirements Engineering

Duration: 02/2019 - 09/2019

Funding Agency: H2020, EU

Content: In this project we apply Natural Language Processing for the analysis of security requirements.

DuS

Digitalisierung und Sicherheit

Duration: 01/2019 - 12/2020

Funding Agency: FFG, Austria

Content: In this project we provide basic and advanced security trainings for professionals in Western Austria.

DTE

Digital Tourism Experts

Duration: 01/2018 - 12/2020

Funding Agency: FFG, Austria

Content: In this project we provide trainings on software and security engineering for professionals in the tourism domain and perform transfer projects to implement practical solutions.

QWEST

Duration: 01/2017 - 12/2018

Funding Agency: FFG, Austria

Content: In this project we provide trainings on software and security engineering for professionals in the domain of Industry 4.0 and perform transfer projects to implement practical solutions.

Smart Testing

Duration: 10/2014 - 03/2015

Funding Agency: FFG, Austria

Content: In this project we develop novel model-based testing approaches for security testing of cloud applications that use AI technologies for test case generation and automation.

MOBSTECO

Model-Based Security Testing of Clouds

Duration: 11/2013 - 10/2018

Funding Agency: FWF, Austria

Content: In this project we developed new model-based approaches to security testing of Cloud applications that use AI technologies for test generation and automation.

Collaboration Projects

NaPiRE

Naming the Pain in Requirements Engineering

Naming the Pain iRequirements Engineering (NaPiRE) constitutes a globally distributed family of surveys on Requirements Engineering (RE) practices and problems. It is nowadays conducted by an internationally distributed alliance of software engineering researchers with the goal to help the research community getting a better understanding of general industrial trends in Requirements Engineering (RE) and problems faced therein. NaPiRE is an academic (non-profit and open) endeavour which aims at establishing the first holistic theory on industrial practices and problems in RE. Michael Felderer is member of the steering commitee of NaPiRE.

Website: re-survey.org

HELENA

Hybrid dEveLopmENt Approaches in software systems development

HELENA is an international study on the use of Hybrid dEveLopmENApproaches in software systems development. The overall goal of this international study is to investigate the current state of practice in software and systems development. In particular, we aim to determine which development approaches (traditional, agile, main-stream, or home-grown) are used in practice and how they are combined, how such combinations were developed over time, and if and how standards (e.g., safety standards) affect the development process and the methods applied. With this information, we aim to develop and deploy new systematic process designs and improvement activities to allow for more efficient and effective development approaches.

Website: https://helenastudy.wordpress.com/

Collaborators

We collaborate with researchers and research groups on all continents. In addition, we have strong active collaborations with research transfer institutes and companies.

Research Transfer Institutes

We collaborate with the following research transfer institutes

Companies

As our research is of high practical relevance and requires companies as active partners in the research process, we collaborate with many companies of all sizes. For instance, we have actively worked in bilateral collaborations with the following large companies:

  • Atos
  • Comarch
  • Danfoss
  • Ericsson
  • Kapsch Carrier Com
  • SAP
  • Sogeti